Our valued sponsor

UK LLP or US LLC to hold offshore accounts

Paul9898

Sep 2, 2018
Visit site
Sir,

I have several offshore brokerage accounts in various countries all under $250,000 USD. But in my name. I want to get them in company name because of the OECD CRS reporting. My goal is simply to have them in a company name. I am not trying to hide anything. Nor am I wealthy and therefore I want to use something simple and cheap.

Would the UK LLP or USA LLC be good for this purpose? I am not American.

I have no experience using these structures. I would prefer if the company that sets them up has no knowledge of my investments.

Any suggestions?

Thanks very much!

Paul

Which countries are they held in and which country are you resident?

CRS has already started and moving now may not help. You may also find that depending on the broker they will only allow first party transfers of securities i.e Saxobank.

CRS has already started and moving now may not help. You may also find that depending on the broker they will only allow first party transfers of securities i.e Saxobank.

CRS has already started and moving now may not help. You may also find that depending on the broker they will only allow first party transfers of securities i.e Saxobank.[/QUOTE

I am Canadian. The accounts are Singapore, Hong Kong and Switzerland. I phone and spend close to an hour with the Canada Revenue Agency. I wanted to know what the thresholds of reporting are. They told me they could not find that information. It is my understanding there are thresholds for reportable accounts which each country sets. For Japan I was told $500,000 USD. Obviously if one had an account with $1,500 and earned $10 interest the tax authorities would not go to the effort to pursue this. I am trying to find what this threshold is. Thanks!

Further....My thought was to use a US or UK structure just to give myself a measure of safety. Martin do you have any suggestions? Thanks