Our valued sponsor

Citizenship by Investment Question

wellington

Mentor Group Gold
Nov 14, 2020
Visit site
Hi, currently looking at Citizenship by Investment for a Carib country, one of the things that came up, was the 'background checks', one of the parties is a national of a country that does now allow dual nationality and currently going through a dictatorial conversion, where people are simply rounded up and thrown in a hole, never to be seen again (unless dredged out of rivers wrapped in steel chicken wire and weighted), the entire reason for this for us is to secure an exit if it continues to deteriorate, does anyone have any experience around CbI?

As the last thing we need is the Gesapo / brownshirts rounding her up for starting the process.

You raise a very valid issue. I have some experience so I will comment.

Normally the background check would not say what it is for. It is a similar type of background check that might be used if you re applying, let's say, for a financial services business license or even a job.

The people doing the background checks are professionals who should, in theory, also be sensitive to this. If you are talking about China it is not a problem at all.

But my advice for extra security would be to work with a well connected agent who will understand this and raise it with the respective Caribbean government ahead of time. They should be able to get an intelligent response and reassurance. If they don't, move to a different agent or a different country.

For CBI i.e Nevis and St Kitts program they rely on you providing what they need like criminal record report from police etc. Theres no one calling up your home country asking about your background. If you speak to a provider you will know in advance what and how much info you will be expected to submit.