Offshore Company Formation and Management Services
Turner Little - Company Formation Agents & Banking Intermediaries.Chat to a member of our sales team.
Mentor Group

DMCC and UAE

omaozeko

Hi there,

I am a UK resident, and looking at various ways of optimising taxes.

I am invoicing non UK companies for consulting and thinking about setting up a DMCC company in the UAE free trade zone. I would get tax residency and a local bank account, which means that in the eyes of the UAE there is no reporting to be done to the UK as I am a local resident (by going once every 6 months). I will still be reporting the income to the UK and pay taxes locally, but I want that flexibility of being offshore if I decide to move overseas.

Why is this a terrible idea? What could go wrong?

Thanks,

Martin Everson

Offshore Retiree
Mentor Group Gold
Elite Member
If you remain tax resident in UK and continue to report income to UK then no issues.

However why spend in excess of $20,000 to do this and gain no tax advantage. You are talking about company setup with visa plus apartment rental etc which is all needed to open a local account. Unless you know how to open a local business bank account for company easily as a non-resident.

Why is this a terrible idea?
Waste of money for no gain

What could go wrong?
You don't decide to move. Then its like buying a holiday home you never use.

omaozeko

If you remain tax resident in UK and continue to report income to UK then no issues.

However why spend in excess of $20,000 to do this and gain no tax advantage. You are talking about company setup with visa plus apartment rental etc which is all needed to open a local account. Unless you know how to open a local business bank account for company easily as a non-resident.

Waste of money for no gain

You don't decide to move. Then its like buying a holiday home you never use.