Our valued sponsor

Individual moving to Cyprus, keeping Limited company in UK.

brescape

Sep 21, 2020
Visit site
I was a uk resident till last year 2020, I have now decided to leave UK and move to Cyprus where I want to spend 185 days this year so to become resident.
I want to travel in the rest of the year, both in EU and extra EU, with no more than 30/45 days in any country.

My income comes from a UK limited (not LLC) specializing in software consulting, that pays me only dividends, and some property rentals in EU.

I cannot move my clients out of the UK limited company, in other words, I still need to invoice out of such company, so the company still need to trade as limited (and not as LLC). The company hasn't a physical presence in UK, and all customers are foreigner entity ,extra UK, and extra EU. The company pay UK tax at 19%

From an individual residence perspective, given that 185 days in Cyprus would enough to be resident as in Cyprus, and I will be careful not to become resident also in any other country by spending not much time anywhere, (for example in UK less than 16 days),

From a corporate tax residency perspective, although my company is incorporated in UK there is a question on where the company would be considered resident EIt would be between UK where is incorporated, banking and has accounting, or in Cyprus where it would be day to day controlled for 185 out of 365 days. From what I understand of the double tax treaty, it is however not possible for the company to be considered taxed in both country, that is somehow different than in the case of individuals

I suppose it is hard to call which of the two countries would be, but my point is that at the end of the day, assuming is one or the other, it should not make, for me much differences.

In my view this is a simple setup because it would allow me one of the two below scenarios:

1) If the company is considered UK resident