Our valued sponsor

Is offshore dead? Small business tax shield advice - UK & Offshore

zozon

May 22, 2021
uk
Visit site
Is Offshore dead?

I am a UK resident and have a small business that mostly works with US/EU companies. We are talking about relatively modest profits here and I don't pay myself much so most of the profits stay in the company. Given that I don't do much UK business I was looking at ways to minimise the UK corporation tax and started looking at BVI or Bahamas.

My idea was simple. I would set-up a new business in BVI where I would be the sole shareholder and UBO. My BVI company would then sell to my non-UK customers (wire transfer only to an EMI) and then my BVI business would sub-contract my UK business to deliver part of these services (e.g. BVI would pay 20% of the order value to the UK company for services). Any UK customers would fully go through the UK company. If I wanted to take dividends from the BVI company, as a UK resident, I would be happy to pay UK dividend tax on that. So I am really trying to minimise corporation tax and keep profit as cash/retained earnings in the company.

Would this work?

I read somewhere that because of the increased financial/UBO transparency the HMRC would "find out" and claim my BVI company is tax resident in the UK as it is controlled from the UK by the UK resident and I would have to presumably pay corporation tax in the UK for the BVI company. So, what is the approach to minimising corporation tax in 2022 for small companies... or is the offshore really dead?

Reactions: SWinja and cuno
No, not in a sustainable and/or lawful manner.