Our valued sponsor

Question Minimizing income tax via crypto loans and offshore company

johndough

Mar 10, 2021
Norway
Visit site
I had a question around minimizing income tax. I won't name the country I'm a tax resident of for privacy reasons. I realize that may make it harder to answer, but please, read on. The idea is this:

Current Situation:
1. I (JOHN) run a business, let's call it COMPANY that does consulting
2. COMPANY pays JOHN 100% of profits as shareholder salary
3. JOHN pays income tax on shareholder salary.

Proposed Situation
1. JOHN runs COMPANY
2. JOHN opens offshore company, let's call it OFFSHORE, has nominee directors etc
3. COMPANY outsources consulting to OFFSHORE
4. OFFSHORE invoices COMPANY each month, let's say it costs about half of COMPANY's monthly income. Payment to be done in cryptocurrency so no bank account required for OFFSHORE
5. COMPANY pays JOHN his shareholder salary, but greatly reduced
6. JOHN takes a loan on one of the crypto loan sites for the rest of his monthly expenses. This shouldn't be subject to tax because it's a loan
7. OFFSHORE pays off the loan with cryptocurrency.

Appreciate any feedback.

Looking at the CFC laws for the country in question, there is an exclusion where the CFC will be exempt if it passes an "active business test". So OFFSHORE has to have a passive income that is less than 5% of the total income. Is cryptocurrency considered an income? Either way I imagine that would be fine, because there would be no passive income. I'm clueless when it comes to these things though.

point #3 does not seem okay, it is the most obvious red flag if the company (paying company) is a regular company