Our valued sponsor

Move to UAE, wait 6 months and cash out tax free, is it that simple?

I'm not an expert, but if you are planning on keeping all the funds you cash out within UAE and you will be transacting only in local currency it might work. Some people have already done exactly that. And of course the bigger the amount the more problematic it becomes.

well i have some family in the country, the real estate is mostly on a foreign owned company, so not sure what qualifies as ties.
I'm not employed or ever have been in my home country, also no money are ever going to touch the home country, but won't stay entirely in the UAE either (Swiss, US etc)

Reactions: jafo
If the UK then yes if you have no contacts that bring you under UK tax

But there’s the issue with remitting the funds back and not being taxed on also.

For the EU you need to be more clear on the state specifically.
No, not even UK.

The question isn't "Can I move to UAE and pay no income tax on new income?"

The question is "Can I move to UAE, declare undeclared income, pay no tax in UAE, and would my home country have no claim on the money?"

The difference is important. OP has committed tax evasion for the last 10 years. That doesn't go away simply by moving to UAE and becoming tax resident there.

Is it tax evasion if he kept his entire investment in crypto for that time? I thought you have tax liability only when you cash out to fiat
I think you're overlooking the "accumulated" part of the original question. In other threads, he's also mentioned how he earned crypto through various jobs/businesses. We're not just talking about acquiring crypto and now realizing profits.

Undeclared income is undeclared income. Doesn't really matter what form the income takes. If you could get away paying income tax simply by getting paid in something other than money, I bet a lot of people would be happy to be paid groceries, clothes, rent, cars, electronics, insurances, travels, and so on.