Our valued sponsor

Portugal NHR & Estonia e-Residency

joffreylol

Jul 17, 2020
Visit site
Sorry for starting a new thread. I know that Portugal's NHR was discussed a lot and if I didn't have to please my girlfriend Portugal wouldn't be my first choice.

I'm a software engineer making websites and mobile apps working for a UK company remotely. I'm not physically tied to any country. I and my girlfriend want to move from a shitty Balkan country and Portugal might work for us.

I'm not sure how NHR could work for me because I have to actively do the work to get money. I don't passively earn stock dividends, pensions, etc. Martin linked this page from Belion Partners Portugal's Non-Habitual Resident (NHR) Tax Regime
It seems that I fall under ICT Technologists of eligible occupation. Foreign-source self-employment or sole trader income derived from an eligible occupation (see below). Can foreign-source self-employment work for me if I own Estonian OU? I can pay myself 100% salary without paying board member salary in Estonia Frequently asked questions | Xolo FAQ . I wonder if this money can be tax-free because of double tax treaties? There is an option of paying myself dividends at 20% or 25% if the salary wouldn't work, but I'm not sure if even that would work because of CFC.

Can anyone please give suggestions, what to do in my situation? Thank you.

It looks to me like you're conflating multiple things here. Not an expert, just follow sources about PT, it'd be great if someone more knowledgable could jump in.

NHR is a possibility that noone can actually guarantee you will get, for anyone who is a resident of PT but still not a citizen. Irrelevant of what kind of visa you have.