Our valued sponsor

Crypto Cash Out - Ireland Resident - US & Irish Citizenship

MarlboroRed

Nov 17, 2021
Norway
Visit site
Looking for the best strategy to cash out mid-6 figures worth of Crypto. I'm a resident in Ireland with dual US & Irish citizenship. CGT here is 33% and I would love to avoid having to pay that. I would be willing to change tax residencies (preferably to another European country). Fatca is obviously a big problem to deal with as well due to the US citizenship. Is there any way to create a company structure that could reduce or eliminate my tax? Ireland also has something called ordinarily resident which I've read that I would be liable for tax unless in a different tax residency for over 3 years (I won't be holding onto my crypto for that long). As far as the pof for the crypto it will be hard to prove as it has been going back years and years with only a big jump up happening in the last few months (started trading with 15k but that was paid to me for some services that I can't provide info on to the tax authorities).

Goal with the FIAT would be to purchase a house in Ireland in the next couple of years.

Any strategy worth it? Or should I just eat the 33% CGT and then hopefully don't get picked up by the US for any additional (One bank I have hasn't registered me as a US citizen as far as I know).

• Wow
Reactions: jafo
Yes In personal wallet not corporate

To summarize. You have a crypto assets in non-custodial wallet as a private person with dual Irish and US citizenship and Irish tax residence. For those crypto assets you do not have a POF.

Can you hypothetically provide the initial 15k transfer as a payment for your services?

Please correct me if my summary is wrong.

Do you have document for source of funds for the cryptos in your wallet?
Sure, we can make him one with paint. It was untaxed money back then he did not pay tax on either. He better claim it was mined or something.