Our valued sponsor

European Alternative Investment Fund Domiciles

Provident

Jul 29, 2021
London
Visit site
Hi All,

I am currently an intern with a European VC. I've been tasked with comprising a report on European domiciles for a new fund (below 100m Euros).
I've been looking at Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Estonia.
I wondered if any experienced professionals have some insight on European domiciles.
Luxembourg seems to be the gold standard, and the Netherlands overall doesn't seem to be looking to make life easier for fund managers and Estonia is a new domicile with a great new vehicle imitating Lux and the UK.
With the new changes to the AIFMD (starting Aug 2nd 2021) regarding pre-marketing, I'd love to hear some opinions.
Also with regard to taxation and exemptions, any information or sources to study would be greatly appreciated, information around this is severely lacking.
The key factors I am analysing are:
Fund vehicles
  • Taxation
  • Speed to market
  • LP / Investor preference
  • Sophistication of national regulator
  • Legal system & certainty
  • Ease of doing business
  • Approach to the AIMFD
  • Re-domiciling funds
  • Cost of doing business

Under €100M AIFM in Luxembourg are efficient vehicles, not-so-quick to set-up as they say, particularly with the new demands and KYC procedures from the CSSF. I don't know about the other 2 jurisdictions, but I'd take a wild guess and say that investors will feel more comfortable with a Lux fund than one based in Estonia. And from what I've heard, Dutch fund set-up is not for the faint of heart, as it takes quite some effort and time to complete the process.

Hoep this helps.

NVO

Reactions: khinkali