Our valued sponsor

Incorporated a new company in Canada - my experience so far

DBeker

Jul 19, 2022
France
Visit site
So I thought I'd share my experience in setting up a company in Canada and if others are interested in this sort of set up, hope this helps! Essentially I recently set up a new Ltd. company in Ontario, Canada. I am an EU resident, but dual citizen with Canada. (however this Canadian citizenship should not have much influence as all foreign nationals should be able to do the same, if they wish)

Opening a Ltd. company is pretty simple and quick. It can be done online and if you are the sole shareholder/director, you don't really need to go through an accountant. I got banking sorted with RBC Royal Bank - a mainstream bank and not some EMI. I got both USD and CAD accounts as the purpose of my business is mainly for doing some import/export commodity trading (physical, not derivatives). I may or may not only focus on Canada specific trade, but I am likely to do a fair bit of third country trading as well (i.e. largely between Africa, India and the EU, but via my Canadian company).

You can set up an account online at ontario.ca and incorporate in like 10 minutes. Cost is around 300 CAD for incorporation and around 40 CAD for Business name registration

You don't need to be a Canadian citizen/resident to set up a company in some provinces in Canada (this is the case for Ontario, Quebec, BC and Alberta I think. The others might have some residency requirements)

Basic steps:
1. You should get set up with a virtual mailbox service i.e. Anytime Mailbox, iPostal1 etc. This may or may not need to be your first step (as you need to have company documents along with your ID), but if you don't have a physical address, you will need one and these are the cheapest options that I found. You will need this address during the incorporation and bank account opening process.