Our valued sponsor

Invoicing through a CFC in the UK?

PrestoR3

Dec 27, 2020
Visit site
I'm a software developer working 100% remotely. Currently, I'm living in Malta but I'm thinking about moving to Cyprus.

All my clients are currently in the UK. I found that, for some reason, some UK companies are not enthusiastic about working with Cypriot companies (although they didn't have a problem with Malta...). Also, I move frequently and I don't want to have to invoice them every time from different companies and having to explain where I currently reside.

Therefore I have an idea to set-up and invoice my customers via Ltd in the UK. After that my UK Ltd will get an invoice from the entity where the work is actually done (be it Cypr / Malta / me as a sole trader living somewhere else).

I will be the sole director of UK Ltd. I realize the CFC rules might apply.. but, the idea here is that in the end, the gross profit of UK Ltd will be 0 (the income will be = cost). So no corporate tax will be due anyway in the UK Ltd and all the taxes will be paid by a Cypriot company.

I wanted to get your opinion if there anything that potentially might not work (tax-wise or anything else I should consider)?
To be absolutely clear... I'm not looking in this case for any tax optimization here. I want to pay all the taxes that are due in the country where the work is done. I only want to have a "facade" in a more renowned jurisdiction than Cyprus. I want it to be 100% legal and transparent to authorities.

Thank you @CaptK ! That's what I currently have in Malta.... However, I want to genuinely move out from Malta to Cyprus.
Also, I don't want to keep my company in Malta anymore for a few reasons:
- 8k EUR for accountancy (where I have only a few transactions a month)
- complexity of the whole tax system based on refunds
- the grey area of how those refunds should be taxed in the UK