Our valued sponsor

USA LLC for Indian Resident

sandy56

Oct 11, 2020
Visit site
I'm a software dev looking into setting up a USA-based LLC, mostly for tax planning, and wanted to see if you guys could poke some holes into my structure because it looks a little too good to be true.

Here's my understanding of such a setup.
  1. As of today, Place of Effective Management rules in India are only applicable to companies with an anuual revenue of INR 50 crore (~$650k USD) or greater, so the US entity wouldn't have to pay taxes in India as long as my revenue doesn't cross this threshold.
  2. According to the IRS, the LLC is a passthrough entity. But since I won't have any employees in the US and won't be working from the US, I won't have to pay any taxes there either.
  3. A US-based LLC would have a relatively low overhead, cost-wise.
The only concern I had was about the "Effectively Connected Income" and the "US-based trade and business" clauses since all my clients are from the US. I have read mixed interpretations of these, so I was hoping to get some clarifications on that too.

I was also looking into UAE as an alternative to USA, but found out that opening a USD account would require a lot of overhead (rent, utility bills, etc.). Is this true as of today?

PS I've learnt a lot from this community. Thanks for all the help!

Reactions: troubled soul
Thanks for taking a look! Do you mean the tax I'll pay on the dividends/salary? If so, that's not an issue as my expenses are very low (~5% of my income). I'll draw a small salary or dividend and would not mind paying the little tax I have to. I plan on investing the rest of the money in the stock market (in the new company's name).
I plan on moving abroad a few years down the line for studies, so will have a window to cash in the profits without triggering the tax laws of either country.

Do you mean the tax I'll pay on the dividends/salary?