Our valued sponsor

USA LLC owned by European resident = VAT or no ?

tomboy

Member Plus
Jun 14, 2019
Visit site
Hi all -

I am a European resident, let say, in Spain. I own a USA LLC incorporated in Delaware and I elected that it would be taxed as a C-corp.

I work with companies all over the world. When these companies are based outside Europe, then no problem.

Now, let say, one of my client is a company in Europe (Italy, Spain or France - does not matter I guess) As I am a fiscal resident in Spain, should my USA LLC charge VAT to my European client or no ?

thank you !

Hi - yes I am aware that the owner of the US company being a spanish fiscal need to pay taxes in Spain.
The Spanish owner is registered as an "autonomo" (self employed) and flushes the profit of the US corp to Spain and therefore pays income taxes in Spain and social security in Spain.
the only thing I am wondering - is - if vat need to be collected when working with European clients.

No, your "US" company has to register in Spain and pay corporate tax in Spain like a Spanish company.
Probably you will then get a Spanish VAT ID and use that to invoice your clients, just like with a Spanish company.
You will have to file tax returns for your company both in the US and in Spain.
You cannot just pretend the US company is like a client of yours and it pays its taxes only in the US. Did you get any kind of legal advice for your setup?

Reactions: marioIT
Whether you need to register for VAT depends on a few factors. Check VAT on digital services/MOSS: What services are covered? - Your Europe

Foreign companies are in many cases supposed to charge/pay VAT on sales to non-VAT registered persons in the EU/EEA. Of course, a lot of companies don't, either by malice or ignorance. The EU doesn't have the resources to go after them all. But I have seen several examples of EU tax authorities issuing estimated tax invoices to non-EU companies and threatening prosecution if they don't pay. Not a fun situation.