Our valued sponsor

Limits of a nominee director and betting company feasibility

JBusiness

Nov 22, 2019
Visit site
Hello everyone,

I’m running since many years a business from France as algorithm provider in the betting sector. 

As I'm a French resident I'm unable to access some Exchanges betting websites (eg: Betfair).

I'm considering to create a company (in an allowed country) that would act as « bettor » by placing bets with an automated betting bot on sports markets.

Goals:
  • Get an access to Betfair.com
  • Stay legal with with French tax authorities
  • Pay as low taxes as possible
What's necessary to get an access to Betfair:
  • Be resident in an allowed country
  • KYC documents to provide: Passport and utility bill or bank statement
  • The bank account or card name linked must have the same name as the Betfair account owner
What I'm considering:
  • Create a UK or Offshore company (maybe Gibraltar, Isle of man ?)
  • Appoint a nominee director
  • Create a Betfair account with the nominee director details/documents
Questions and black points:
  • Do you know if a nominee director service would allow to create that type of account?
  • Do you think it's feasible?

I would really appreciate your inputs and I'm all ears if you have any alternative approaches.

Thanks in advance.

Reactions: clemens
Gibraltar or Isle of man looks like ideal setups but having everything you need to create a corporate account looks slow and expensive

Not easy and cheap to open a company in Gibraltar nowadays so you need to talk about serious money

You could be the shareholder and have a nominee to operate the company. Your tax would be the dividend tax in France but the company could pay you some expenses or invoices.

I would consult a tax advisor in your ocuntry near you to get proper answer for this. If you want it all to pass any tax audit later on.

Gibraltar works fine for this.