Our valued sponsor

Not sure what to do - Taxes, Payment Processing, Offshore

Scorpy

Apr 20, 2019
Visit site
Her everyone. So here is my situation, maybe I can get some advice.

I live in one of the Balkan countries. I've been working online for the past 7 years, selling digital products and services. I'm a one-man show. I have a couple of websites. Last year and the year before I had my best years, with a net profit of about $45,000/year. I know it's not a lot, but for my country standards it's pretty good.

The two problems I face is that it's hard to scale a business when all you have to work with is gaypal and Payoneer and Transferwise etc. There are payment processors I can't use from my country. And it's especially hard when your main source of income comes from a business that's considered high risk. It's not crypto, it's social media related. And being from the country I'm in, I can't even apply to most high-risk payment processors, who only accept US/EU companies.

And then of course there's also taxes to consider. Working as an individual in my country I would have to pay 45% tax. There's another method of taxation which I can't use because my business falls under "marketing." And the other method of taxation is starting a company, hiring myself in the company, paying myself a salary and benefits (health/pension) on that salary, paying an accountant monthly (obligatory), paying 10-15% tax on the money my company earns, probably paying even more if I want to transfer the money to myself, having to keep books, having to collect bills to reduce my taxes (but I'm a saver, I don't spend money), having to convert all the money (USD/EUR) I earn into the local currency (it's obligatory, and I would lose money on the conversion rates), and having to live in fear of this "independence test" the government put in about a year ago. It's hell!